/ / Lies and Epiphanies

Lies and Epiphanies

Lies and Epiphanies (Eastman Studies in Music, Book 111) by Chris Walton
English | 2014 | ISBN: 1580464777 | 180 pages | PDF | 9,4 MB
Lies and Epiphanies offers case studies of "inspiration" in five composers – Richard Wagner, Gustav Mahler, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Richard Strauss, and Alban Berg. Their own tales of their epiphanies played a determining role in the reception history of their works: the finale of Mahler's Second Symphony was supposedly born of a "lightning bolt" of inspiration at the funeral of Hans von Bülow, while Alban Berg's Violin Concerto was purportedly his direct response to the tragic early death of Alma Mahler's daughter. Chris Walton looks behind these tales to explore instead the composer's dual role as author and self-commentator, laying bare the fissures and inconsistencies within these artists' testimonies and revealing how the putatively extrarational world of creative inspiration intersects with the highly rational world of money and politics. As Walton points out, the composer often imposes on the audience an interpretation of a work and its genesis that is as superficial as the score itself is not. This study seeks to show why. Chris Walton teaches music history at the Basel University of Music in Switzerland. He is the author of Othmar Schoeck: Life and Works (University of Rochester Press, 2009) and Richard Wagner's Zurich: The Muse of Place (Camden House, 2007).


Download from NitroFlare

Lies and Epiphanies

Related books

The Great Courses - The Symphony

Listen: A History of Our Ears

Interpreting Music

The Wagner Operas

Essential Music Library

The Philosophies of Richard Wagner

Live cloud

This week top files